Book review – “Learning to Live” by Kira Adams – story of living life to the fullest

learning to live

Format: ebook
Series: book 1 of 4 of the Infinite Love series
Rating: 16+ for language, sexual content, themes
Genre: Young Adult
Goodreads page:

In the first book in this series, we follow Topher (a boy who has it all but feels nothing) as he meets Ciera (the subject to his and his friends torment wanting to be invisible) and embark on an unlikely friendship before falling in love and learning the true meaning of life.

On the surface, Topher has it all. Beautiful girlfriend, money, popularity but you quickly see that the grass may not always be greener on the other side. He reaches a point in his life that he wants to stop being numb and start living and he has Ciera to thank for that.

Ciera was the butt to all the pranks and jokes from Topher and his friends and had no resolve to forgive any of them, but when life hands her lemons she has to try and make lemonade because she doesn’t want to hold on to that hate.

The story as a whole reminds me a whole lot of A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks, but personally, I like this story a lot better. I like Topher and Ciera more as characters and they feel more real to me then the couple in Sparks’s book. Topher is a romantic at heart and does anything he can to make Ciera see how much she’s changed him. She made him feel again and he made her live life like it should be.

Perhaps the one downside of the story is the epilogue. The ending for Topher is left unresolved and a quick look ahead in the rest of the series, it doesn’t look like we will get to see what happens. We won’t get to see if gets the scholarship, we don’t get to see if he’s ok. After spending the entire book getting attached to him, it’s a big let down.

The book is a clear tear-jerker and will give you what some authors like to call an ‘ugly cry’ but the meaning behind the story is important to take out of this. Life is short and you should live each day to the fullest.

Rating: A


The Infinite Love series

infinite love series

Learning to Live

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Amazon UK

 My Forever
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Amazon UK

Beautifully Broken
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Amazon UK

Against All Odds
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Amazon UK

The Box set of all 4 books
Amazon | Amazon UK

*Note, the series is available for Kindle Unlimited at the time of this posting

What did you think of the story?


One thought on “Book review – “Learning to Live” by Kira Adams – story of living life to the fullest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s