Cassandra Clare announces book schedule

With the release of the final book in the Mortal Instruments series, City of Heavenly Fire, set to come out next month, fans have been wondering what will be next for this author. Through her blog and Twitter page

As we know, she has already announced two new book series that she is working on, The Last Hours (the sequel to Infernal Devices) and Magisterium (she is co-writing this series with Holly Black about life outside the Shadow Hunter world.

The schedule, which can be seen below, starts after City of Heavenly Fire and brings us through 2020 with the schedule. By the looks of it, we can expect at least one new book from her a year. Also in the schedule, is the new Shadow Hunter series she is writing called The Wicked Powers. As of now, she has stated this will be the last Shadow Hunter series, but we know that she has changed her mind in the past.

Clare book schedule
Magisterium #1: The Iron Trial – September 9th 2014

The Dark Artifices #1: Lady Midnight – March 2015

Magisterium #2- 2015

The Dark Artifices #2: Prince of Shadows – 2016

The Last Hours #1 – Chain of Thorns late 2016/early 2017

Magisterium #3 – 2016

The Last Hours #2 – Chain of Gold 2018

Magisterium #4 – 2017

The Dark Artificies #3: The Queen of Air and Darkness – 2017

Magisterium #5 – 2018

The Last Hours #3: Chain of Iron – 2020

There is no schedule yet for The Wicked Powers as it has just been announced and considering the full load she has now, it’s understandable. Clare has stated that this series will follow the Blackthorn family (which is a family from The Dark Artifices) and take place three years after TDA ends.

What do you think of Cassanda Clare’s schedule?

as published by on

A new Shadowhunter trilogy to be released

Today, Cassandra Clare has announced through her Twitter page that she is working on a new trilogy for her Shadowhunter fans. This is good news for fans that have liked The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices as both series are either finished or will be finishing soon.

Clare Tweeted about the announcement of Walker Books buying the new series which was already rumored to be true on Goodreads.

The new trilogy, called The Last Hours, will follow Will’s and Tessa’s children, James and Lucie and a few others in 1903 as the fight against the demons in an Edwardian time. Clare explains that the inspirations for the new series comes from Charles Dickenson’s The Great Expectations.

Some other key points to pull from the posting is that there is going to be three books: Chain of Thorns, Chain of Gold, and Chain of Iron. She has no schedule set for the books, but considering that she has this much information set, I wouldn’t be surprised if she has at least a rough draft for Chain of Thorns done.

You can read the full excerpt, you can go here.

Clare has a busy schedule ahead of her. Including this new series, she will be releasing nine books in the next few years, which include the final book in The Mortal Instruments, City of Heavenly Fire, and introductions into three new series: Magisterium, The Last Hours, and The Dark ArtificesThe Iron Trial, the first book in the Magisterium series, is set to come out September 14th, while Chain of Thorns (first book in The Last Hours) and Lady Midnight (first book in The Dark Artifices) have a 2015 publication date.

What do you think of the new series?

as published by on