Book review – “Until November” by Aurora Rose Reynolds – a good idea but didn’t pay enough time on developing story


Format: ebook, paperback
Series: book 1 of Until series
Rating: 18+ language, sexual content
Genre: Romance/New Adult
Goodreads page:

The book follows November as she moves down to Tennessee to move in with her father after she gets attacked in New York. She quickly meets Asher and they hit it off immediately. Her happy ever after gets challenged as ghosts from her past follow her and threaten everything that she’s building.

Asher knows that she is the girl for him and he is determined to do anything in his power to make her see that. She has had a rough childhood, believing htat she wasn’t beautiful and not worthy and Asher breaks down those walls and makes her feel those things for the first time in her life.

For the story, the idea was there, but Reynolds didn’t develop it enough. She spent to much at having moments between Asher and November that it got a little redundant. It also didn’t make sense that they would just fall in love so quickly with one another without really knowing each other. While Reynolds sort of defended Asher’s side with the ‘Mayson curse’ but for November, it would have made more sense for her to be more standoffish considering what she grew up with.

Reynolds sped through the main story line and it was almost forgotten until the end of the book. What would have helped the book if November continued to get letters throughout the book rather then just at the beginning and then just at the end.

One big flaw with the story that stuck out the most to me was the grammatical errors and there is quite a bit. I don’t know if they transfer to the paperback version, but the e-book version there were a lot. And they were small ones that should have been picked up, such as spelling.

I really enjoyed reading about Asher and Reynold and their relationship, but it felt too rushed. Like Reynolds had all these ideas that she wanted for their relationship and tried to cram them all in the 300+ pages. She could have cut out some of the one-on-one scenes and added more of her stalker problem. That would have certainly helped with the story.

Overall, it has all the bones for a good story but the grammatical errors and rushed storyline took away from the story. Hopefully she fixes these mistakes in the upcoming books in the series.

There are three more books in the series that have been announced. The order reads Until Trevor, Until Lilly, and Until Nico. The first two books are available now with Until Nico having a schedule June 2014 released date.

Reynolds has announced a new series called Undergroud Kings with three books so far announced. The three books, Assumption, Obligation, and Distraction all have a 2014 release date set.

To keep up to date on news for Aurora Rose Reynolds, you can ’Like’ her on Facebook.